Surprises on February 29

Woodpecker determinedly
pecking at the grass,
insistently, consistently,
not bothered as I pass.

Snow still covers mountains,
but sunshine heats my face;
spring is surely dawning,
I’m in my happy place.

Pot belly pig pet
with landlord on the lead
sniffling, snorting, shuffling
on a downtown street.

Collard-coloured classic car
rumbling rudely by
with a skeleton passenger
that challenges my eye.

Yellow crocus breaking through
ground frozen just before.
Life looks much brighter now.
I expect to see some more.

Surprises of a leap year day
charm me to deny
the dust of snow on first of March.
It’s nothing but a lie.

Surprises on February 29 © March 1, 2016 | Annie Zalezsak

Leave a comment

