Who I Am vs What I Do

Photo credit: Law Alan, 9720669, 123rf.com

It seems that the busier I get with work, the more I lose touch with who I am. Even when I really enjoy my job and identify with a shared corporate mission, I feel like my true self is taking a back seat.

I fall into bad habits: laziness and food addiction. I give so much of myself to the company all week, I want to be pampered as compensation. On weekends, I nap during back-to-back movies. I munch on chips and chocolate, and have dinner delivered.

Then I feel guilty, because I’m not really DOing anything with my time off. I beat myself up for making unhealthy choices.

And that’s not who I am.

In current society, it’s acceptable to gauge what we DO with a higher value than who we ARE. We’re expected to do things that have a (sometimes arbitrary) financial figure attached to it. This further translates into possessions we own as a marker of our value in society.

What we contribute through doing, is greatly impacted by who we are being.

Who I am, is more about the qualities inherent in my soul. Despite my physical or mental capacities, or what I choose to do moment-by-moment, these traits remain everlasting.

So today onward, “I am” is my mantra for hitting the reset button when I get lost in the forest of DOing. I am convinced that by continuously asking myself, “Who am I?”, I can ensure I am consciously realigning with my life purpose as I veer and stray off the path of the intentional life I desire to live.

Who I Am vs What I Do © February 21, 2016 | Annie Zalezsak

Leave a comment

